Natural News

Natural News

New Commissioners Have Past ANHC Associations

Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission - Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Hugh Earnest of Fayetteville and Ellen Turner of Rogers have been appointed by Gov. Mike Beebe to fill vacant positions on the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission (ANHC). Earnest replaces the position vacated by Curtis Adams, Jr. and Turner replaces the position vacated by James “Manuel” Barnes.

Pictured at left: Hugh Earnest

Earnest previously served on the Arkansas Natural and Scenic Rivers Commission and the Arkansas Department of Heritage’s Main Street Advisory Board. He is currently self-employed with Earnest Consulting.

Civic responsibility is no stranger to Earnest, who has served with the U.S. Peace Corps, Job Corps, Arkansas Forestry Commission, American Cancer Society, Soil and Water Conservation Commission, and various city governments within Arkansas and Texas. Earnest has also worked as a research associate for the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and for a national environmental engineering consulting firm.

Pictured at right: Ellen Turner being sworn in as a member of the ANHC.

Turner was a member of the ANHC from 1978-1998 (as Ellen Neaville), serving as chairman from 1994-1998. She is currently an instructor in the department of Life and Physical Science at Northwest Arkansas Community College (NWACC) in Bentonville.

Turner serves on the Ozark Natural Science Center’s Board of Directors and the Schmieding Center for Senior Health Education Advisory Board. She is a volunteer basic botany instructor for the Benton County Master Gardeners and a volunteer Arkansas ecoregions and ornithology instructor for the Northwest Arkansas Master Naturalists. Turner is a member of the Friends of Hobbs and a faculty advisor for L.I.V.E., a NWACC student organization. 

Recent Posts